Faculty Honors

Lisa Bates, PhD, assistant professor of Epidemiology, was selected for a 2017 Presidential Teaching Award. This award is given to Columbia University’s best teachers for commitment to excellent and often innovative teaching.

David Rosner, PhD, Ronald H. Lauterstein Professor of Sociomedical Sciences, was honored by The Scientific Committee on the History of Prevention of Occupational and Environmental Disease for his “Outstanding Scholarship on the History of Work and Health.” Read more.

John Rowe, MD, Julius B. Richmond Professor of Health Policy and Aging, Health Policy and Management, will assume the presidency of the International Association of Gerontology and Geriatrics (IAGG).

Diana Hernandez, PhD, assistant professor of Sociomedical Sciences, was named a faculty affiliate at The Center on Global Energy Policy at Columbia University's School of International and Public Affairs. Dr. Hernandez will also be the speaker at the Center's April faculty roundtable discussion.

Cassie Landers, EdD, MPH, Population and Family Health, joined the board of ChildFund International in January. ChildFund International is a global child development and protection organization which works with local partners to improve the lives of children. The organization currently serves more than 17 million children and family members in 25 countries.

James Phillips, PhD, and John Koku Awoonor-Williams, MD, MPH, Population and Family Health, helped author one of the "Top 5 Most Cited Articles Since 2013" public by Global Health: Science and Practice. The article was titled "Lessons learned from scaling up a community-based health program in the Upper East Region of northern Ghana."

Virginia Rauh, ScD, John Santelli, MD MPH, and Lindsay Stark, DrPH, MPH, Population and Family Health, have been selected for the newest class of Columbia Public Voices Fellows. Conducted in collaboration with the OpEd Project, this year-long program is designed to help thought leaders influence the public debate.

Miriam Laugesen, PhD, associate professor of Health Policy and Management, published her book, Fixing Medical Prices.

Lois Quam, MA, an associate in the Department of Health Policy and Management, was named chief executive of Pathfinder International, the nonprofit organization that focuses on reproductive health.

Alfred Morabia, MD, PhD, professor of clinical Epidemiology, was a featured speaker at the Boston University School of Public Health's Dean's Symposium of February 1. His talk titled "Defining Health Inequities, provided a historical perspective on how health inequities have been defined and explained over the last 350 years.

Linda P. Fried, MD, MPH, was elected to the Council of the National Academy of Medicine for a three-year term beginning July 2017. The Council is the governing body of the Academcy elected by the membership.

Lloyd Sederer, MD, adjunct professor of Epidemiology, published the book Improving Mental Health: Four Secrets in Plain Sight. Foreword by Patrick Kennedy.

Ursula Staudinger, PhD, Sociomedical Sciences, will receive the 2017 SENECA medal, an award for aging research, from the Industry Club D üsseldorf in September 2017.

Quarraisha Abdool Karim, PhD, professor of Epidemiology and associate scientific director of CAPRISA (Center for the AIDS Programme of Research in South Africa), received an honorary doctoral degree from the University of Johannesburg. Read more.

Rachel T. Moresky, MD, MPH, associate professor of Population and Family Health and Medicine, was awarded the Global Emergency Medicine Association Presidential Lifetime Achievement Award from the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine. Read more.