Advisory Council: The Advisory Council provides high-level, strategic guidance and direction to the GCCHE, and is comprised of global leaders on health education, climate change, and community resilience. The Advisory Council currently includes:

  • Chair: Linda P. Fried, MPH, MD, Dean of the Mailman School of Public Health and DeLamar Professor of Public Health Practice, Professor Epidemiology and Medicine, Senior Vice President, Columbia University Medical Center;

  • Richard M. Adanu, MPH, FWACS, MB ChB, Dean, School of Public Health, University of Ghana, Professor of Women’s Reproductive Health and Consultant obstetrician gynecologist with the School of Public Health, University of Ghana and the University Hospital;

  • Laurent Chambaud, MD, Dean, Ecole des hautes études en santé publique (EHESP);

  • Carlos Dora, MD, PhD, Coordinator, Public Health, Environmental and Social Determinants of Health Department, World Health Organization; 

  • Howard Frumkin, MD, DrPH, Professor of Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences, University of Washington School of Public Health; 

  • Lynn R. Goldman, MD, MS, MPH, Dean, Milken Institute School of Public Health at George Washington University, Professor Environmental and Occupational Health, George Washington University;

  • Jean-Francois Guégan, PhD, Senior Research Professor, Institut de recherche pour le développement (IRD);

  • Andy Haines (Sir Andrew Paul Haines), MD, F Med Sci, Professor Public Health and Primary Care, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine (LSHTM);

  • Keith Hansen, MPA, JD, Vice President for Human Development at the World Bank Group;

  • Alice C. Hill, JD, Research Fellow, Hoover Institution, Stanford University;

  • Haidong Kan, MD, PhD, Professor Public Health and Environmental Sciences, Fudan University;

  • Linda A. McCauley, PhD, RN, FAAN, FAAOHN, Dean and Professor, Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing at Emory University;

  • Michael Myers, MA, Managing Director, The Rockefeller Foundation;

  • Jonathan Patz, MD, MPH, Professor and John P. Holton Chair of Health and the Environment, Director, Global Health Institute, University of Wisconsin;

  • Jean-Marc de Royere, MBA, Senior Vice President, International & Sustainability, Air Liquide Corporation 

Coordinating Committee: The Coordinating Committee is comprised of experts in building climate resilience and climate-health training, works closely with GCCHE leadership in advising on developing educational aims, crafting curricula, and carrying out the other activities. The Coordinating Committee currently includes:

  • John Balbus, MD, MPH, Senior Advisor for Public Health, Director, NIEHS-WHO Collaborating Centre for Environmental Health Sciences;

  • Anneliese Depoux, PhD, Co-Director of the Centre Virchow-Villermé, Paris;

  • Dana Haine, MS, Science Educator, Community Outreach and Engagement Core, University of North Carolina Center for Environmental Health and Susceptibility;

  • Jay Lemery, MD, FACEP, FAWM, Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine, University of Colorado School of Medicine, Chief, Section of Wilderness & Environmental Medicine;

  • George Luber, PhD, Associate Director for Climate Change, Division of Environmental Hazards and Health Effects, National Center for Environmental Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention;

  • Gilma Mantilla, MD, MSc, Adjunct Associate Research Scientist, The International Research Institute for Climate and Society (IRI), Professor, Department of Social and Preventive Medicine at Pontificia Universidad Javeriana, Bogota, Colombia;

  • Sara Stone, MS, Planetary Health Education Fellow, Planetary Health Alliance, Director of Education and Training, Global Health Sim; 

  • Caroline Wellbery, MD, PhD, Professor, Department of Family Medicine, Associate Deputy Editor, American Family Physician, Georgetown University Medical Center

Host Institution: The Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health, home to the nation’s first program in climate and health in a school of public health, serves as GCCHE’s host institution. Mailman School faculty members Dr. Jeffrey Shaman and Dr. Kim Knowlton lead the GCCHE. Dr. Shaman is Associate Professor of Environmental Health Sciences and Director of the Mailman School’s Climate and Health Program. Dr. Knowlton is Assistant Professor in the Climate and Health Program.

Project Director: Brittany Shea oversees the day-to-day activities of the GCCHE in close collaboration with Drs. Knowlton and Shaman.