Our Faculty

Home » Our Faculty » Recent Awards and Honors

Recent Awards and Honors

Dean Linda P. Fried, MD, MPH, was named the 2015 Lorraine and Ralph Lubin Distinguished Visiting Professor at Weill Cornell Medical Center. Dr. Fried was chosen for her achievements in the field of epidemiology and as a role model for students.

Frederica Perera, DrPH, PhD, professor of Environmental Health Sciences and director of the Columbia Center for Children’s Environmental Health, was awarded the second annual Jean and Leslie Douglas Pearl Award by the Cornell Douglas Foundation for her pioneering work in the field of molecular epidemiology.

In recognition for her role leading the implementation of a pioneering curriculum for the Mailman School’s signature Master’s in Public Health, Dean Linda P. Fried was guest editor of "Innovations in Public Health Education," a special online supplement of the American Journal of Public Health, featuring perspectives on the need to re-invigorate public health by making sustained changes to the way it delivers an education.

Alfredo Morabia, MD, PhD, professor of Epidemiology, was named as new editor-in-chief of the American Journal of Public Health effective June 2015.

"Structural Approaches in Public Health," co-edited by Sociomedical Sciences professors Marni Sommer, DrPH, and Richard Parker, PhD, was selected as a Choice Outstanding Academic Title of 2014.

Assistant Professor of Population and Family Health Melissa Stockwell, MD, MPH, was elected to the Society for Pediatric Research, which fosters research and career development for those engaged in the health and wellbeing of children.

The American Institute of Architects (AIA), the AIA Foundation, and the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture named Columbia’s Mailman School of Public Health and Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation as charter members of the AIA Design & Health Research Consortium. The initiative, led by Andrew Rundle, DrPH, associate professor of Epidemiology and co-director of the Obesity Prevention Initiative, will help fund basic research on how design affects public health.

The American Political Science Association, Health Politics and Policy Section, named Miriam Laugesen, PhD, assistant professor of Health Policy and Management, recipient of the 2014 Leonard S. Robins Best Paper Award for "Policy Complexity and Professional Capture."

Epidemiology Professor Stephen S. Morse, PhD, was appointed by Health and Human Services Secretary Sylvia Burwell to the National Science Advisory Board for Biosecurity of the National Institutes of Health.

Elaine Larson, PhD, RN, FAAN, professor of Epidemiology, was selected by the New York Academy of Medicine as the 2014 recipient of the John Stearns Medal for Distinguished Contributions in Clinical Practice.

April 15, 2015