About Us

» Awards & Distinguished Lectures » Calderone Prize in Public Health

Calderone Prize in Public Health

The Frank A. Calderone Prize in Public Health - consisting of the Calderone medal and an award of $15,000 - is given every two years to an individual who has made a transformational contribution in the field of public health. Prize recipients deliver an original lecture, not previously delivered or published, that has been prepared for this purpose.

The purpose of this preeminent prize is to recognize an individual who has accomplished work of extraordinary distinction in the field of public health and/or who has made a specific discovery or contribution that has had long-term national or global implications in such areas as communicable disease, environmental health, epidemiology, social and/or behavioral medicine, health policy, or any aspect of health promotion and/or disease prevention.

The 2011 Calderone Prize was presented to Harvey Fineberg, MD, PhD, President of the Institute of Medicine, at a gala dinner on October 18, 2011 at the Pierre Hotel in New York City.  Dr. Fineberg delivered the Calderone Prize Lecture on October 19th.

About the Calderone Prize: